News

around the web



TMZ Tour
TMZ Tour


Stars React To The Death Of Beastie Boys' Adam Yauch aka MCA

0504_yauch_singleThe Twitterverse was abuzz with the news of the death of Beastie Boys band member Adam Yauch aka MCA.

A formal announcement was made by his publicist on this website.

"It is with great sadness that we confirm that musician, rapper, activist and director Adam “MCA” Yauch, founding member of Beastie Boys and also of the Milarepa Foundation that produced the Tibetan Freedom Concert benefits, and film production and distribution company Oscilloscope Laboratories, passed away in his native New York City this morning after a near-three-year battle with cancer. He was 47 years old," an excerpt reads.

He is survived by a wife and daughter.

See what Adam's friends and fans had to say about his passing:

Russell Simmons @UncleRUSH
Adam was incredibly sweet and most sensitive artist who I loved dearly and was always inspired by his work. He will be missed by all of us.

Rev Run ‏ @RevRunWisdom
R I P Adam... I'm devastated. Praying for Adam Yauch's family from the legendary Beastie Boys. Youll be missed!

Justin Timberlake @Jtimberlake
Crushed to hear the news of Adam Yauch's passing. A true pioneer of art. My thoughts and prayers are with his family and loved ones.

Def Jam Recordings @DefJamRecords
Man...that one hurts. Our prayers go out to Adam Yauch and his family. #MCA #BEASTIEBOYS Rest Well.

Travis Barker ‏ @travisbarker
Rest In Peace Adam Yauch /MCA. 4ever somebody i looked up to & had the pleasure of meeting. Damn this bums me out, we lost one of the best

benji madden ‏ @benjaminmadden
This news hits hard. The Beastie Boys are 1of the reasons I do music&MCA was the captain. Thanx for everythin MCA. Rest in Peace

Fred Durst ‏ @freddurst
A very sad day indeed. Adam Yauch RIP.

Papa Roach @paparoach
Rest in Peace to a hip hop pioneer - Adam Yauch aka MCA of Beastie Boys.

will.i.am ‏ @iamwill
#restinpeaceMCA 1 of my favorite hiphop groups...hiphop raised a lot of us & now we have to wake up because are hero's are dying too young

Pete Wentz @petewentz
beastie boys paved the way for so many who came after. #RIPMCA

Weezer ‏ @Weezer
We are so sorry to hear about the loss of the Beastie Boys' Adam Yauch (MCA) a true legend & inspirational to everyone in weezers generation

Cee Lo Green ‏ @CeeLoGreen
Now playing: something's got to give: BEASTIE BOYS R.I.P. M.C.A. One of the best hip-hop groups of all time!much love to MIKE-D and AD-ROCK

Tom Morello @tmorello
Rip dear Adam Yauch. Words can't express the sadness and loss. Ur humor, talent & gentle soul are just irreplacable. Be at peace brother.

Kevin Smith @ThatKevinSmith
RIP Adam Yauch. You made my teenage years more fun and your art made it easier for me to do what I do. For a Beastie, you sure were a beaut.

Boyz II Men @BoyzIIMen
Sad sad day. Beastie Boys' Adam Yauch dies at age 47. Our condolences to Mike D, Ad Rock and the family.

ICE T @FINALLEVEL
Another very sad day in Hip Hop. #MCARIP

Duran Duran @duranduran
Rest in Peace Adam Yauch. Our condolences to your friends and family

Cypress Hill @Cypress_Hill
deepest condolences 2 the family of Adam yauch & the beastie boys. Adam was the coolest dude ever& will b missed but memory will live on

marlon wayans ‏@MARLONLWAYANS
Rest on peace Adam Yauch. Beastie Boys were always the "coolest whiteboys" when I was growing up. They erased color lines the opposite way

RainnWilson ‏ @rainnwilson
RIP Adam Yauch (MCA of the Beastie Boys). He was a super-genius, a visionary and, most importantly, a really good person.

David Boreanaz ‏ @David_Boreanaz
R.I.P. Adam Yauch. Was all about the Beastie Boys on cassette on the Boom box down at the Jersey shore. True artist.

Andrew Zimmern ‏@andrewzimmern
Oh my lord.... So sad

Lance Armstrong ‏ @lancearmstrong
Crushed to hear the news of Adam Yauch's passing. #RIPMCA

moby ‏@thelittleidiot
I'm very very sad to hear of adam yauch's passing. He was a wonderful, generous, remarkable, and inspiring man and friend.

Common @Common
God Bless the soul of Adam Yauch aka MCA of the Beastie Boys. RIP

Milla Jovovich
‏@MillaJovovich
we lost one of our greatest talents today. my prayers and thoughts go out to the family and friends of Adam Yauch. Beastie Boys for life.

Jimmy Eat World @jimmyeatworld
We're very saddened by the passing of Adam Yauch. RIP MCA. You'll be missed.

Uncle Kracker @unclekracker
RIP Adam Yauch...you were, are, and always will be a big part of everything I do.

Ali Larter ‏@TheRealAliL
RIP Adam Yauch my heart goes out to your family #LEGEND

Carson Daly @carsonjdaly
God Bless his family

QTip @QtipTheAbstract
RIP yauch and thank u mike and adam n adam 4 all of your help, the tours, the bball games, n great times. a humanitarian a tru friend

Eli Roth @eliroth
RIP Adam Yauch

Adrienne Maloof @AdrienneMaloof
Agreed, very sad RT @DrPaulNassif Just heard the news about Beastie Boys' Adam Yauch. So sad. My prayers are with his family and friends.

Adam Shankman ‏ @adammshankman
Thank you MCA and rest in peace. Ill always fight for my right to party

Michelle Branch @michellebranch
Just heard about Adam Yauch. Beyond bummed. So so so sad.

WOODKID ‏ @Woodkid
RIP MCA

boygeorge ‏ @BoyGeorge
Such sad news about Beastie Boy Adam Yauch. A fellow Buddhist and part of hip hop history!! R.I.P!

Edgar Wright (director) @edgarwright
Am heartbroken about Adam Yauch. Met him exactly a year ago in NYC. He was a fine, funny, talented gent. Will miss you Nathanial Hörnblowér.

Lobsang Nyandak (rep for the Dalai Lama)
Adam Yauch had been very keen supporter of Tibetan people and close friend of his holiness the Dalai Lama. Adam had helped us raise awareness on the plight of the Tibetan people by organizing various freedom Tibet concerts and he will be remembered by his holiness and the Tibetan people.

When Adam was sick he had met with his holiness on several occasions. The last time was in July of last year in Washington D.C. and his holiness blessed him and advised that lead a life of helping others and now he should be aware and face his challenges courageously.

blog comments powered by Disqus