News

around the web



TMZ Tour
TMZ Tour


Dennis Farina Dead at 69 -- Stars React on Twitter

0722_farina_inset

Actor Dennis Farina died suddenly Monday morning in Scottsdale, Arizona after suffering a blood clot in his lung. He was 69 years old.

Farina was a star of film and TV. Among his most memorable small screen roles were on "Law & Order," "Luck" and "New Girl."

He famously played mobsters Jimmy Serrano in "Midnight Run" and Ray "Bones" Barboni in "Get Shorty."

Farina is survived by his longtime love Marianne Cahill, three sons and six grandchildren. His costars, friends and fans took to Twitter to express their condolences. The first to tweet was "New Girl" star Jake Johnson, who played his son on "New Girl":

Jake Johnson @MrJakeJohnson
RIP Dennis Farina. What a tremendous loss.

Law and OrderVerified ‏@nbclawandorder
Our thoughts are with Dennis Farina and his family. He was at the heart of Law & Order and we are saddened by this tragic news.

Joe MantegnaVerified @JoeMantegna
Words cannot express how I feel about the passing of my dear friend Dennis Farina. He was like a brother to me. I'm in shock..

Donald Faison ‏@donald_faison
RIP Dennis Farina

Rosie O'Donnell ‏@Rosie
Dennis Farina - loved him - wonderful man - this dying stuff --- too hard

Tom Green ‏@tomgreenlive
Saddened to hear Dennis Farina passed away today. I worked with him in the movie Stealing Harvard. He was one cool dude. RIP Dennis.

Olivia Wilde ‏@oliviawilde
How awesome is it that Dennis Farina will be reincarnated as the royal baby.

Dennis Haskins ‏@mrbelding
I am very sad to wake up to the news that the wonderful Dennis Farina has passed away. We shared a mutual friend. He was so nice to me. #RIP

Charlotte RossVerified ‏@charlotteross
Soo sad.. My heart goes out to his family and loved ones.. He was an AMAZING actor & LOVELY man... #RIPDennisFarina

Clare Bowen ‏@clarembee
Anything to declare? "Yeah, don't go to London." - Dennis Farina #godspeed

Adam Pally @adampally
RIP Dennis Farina. It's like MCA all over again. I'm gonna need some time here to process this guys, thanks for your thoughts and prayers.

Debi Mazar @debimazar
R.I.P Dennis Farina Such a presence in person..charming and so handsome...great talent. Condolences to his family.

Ike Barinholtz @ikebarinholtz
My Uncle Bernie and Dennis Farina were partners in in the Chicago Police Department in the 60's. Great man, rest in peace

David Krumholtz (@DaveKrumholtz)
Got to work with the hilarious Dennis Farina. He was a great man, full of life, and he loved being an actor. He was made for acting. RIP

Illeana Douglas (@Illeanarama)
Dennis Farina-Another one of the greats is gone. Kind,Funny,Wonderful actor. My prayers to your family

John Henson (@John_Henson)
R.I.P. Dennis Farina.  I hope 'Serrano's got the disks' in Heaven. #MidnightRun #RIPDennisFarina

Kumail Nanjiani ‏@kumailn
Dennis Farina?!?!? Dammit. RIP sir. Heaven has another awesome mustache now.

Omar Benson Miller ‏@OmarMiller
@NikkiFinke: R.I.P. Dennis Farina http://dlvr.it/3hTrYR  via @Deadline"Awww man...R.I.P indeed

Danielle Panabaker ‏@dpanabaker
So sad to hear about Dennis Farina. I have the greatest memories of him from shooting Empire Falls. Sending love & prayers to his loved ones

OMAR EPPS @omarepps
#RIP Dennis Farina! Cool cat..

Mike GreenbergVerified ‏@Espngreeny
You can't play a role better than Dennis Farina as the gangster in "Midnight Run." If you haven't seen it, do tonight in his honor. #RIP

blog comments powered by Disqus